​How to manage multiple client projects in Arctype using workspaces and permissions

In this article, you will learn how to create, modify, and delete workspaces in Arctype. You will also learn how to create projects under a workspace and manage permission access from the workspace settings.

a month ago   •   5 min read

By Ochuko Onojakpor
Table of contents

In this article, you will learn how to create, modify, and delete workspaces in Arctype. You will also learn how to create projects under a workspace and manage permission access from the workspace settings.

What is Arctype?

Arctype is a database management and visualization tool that allows easy and effective management of data in your database. It will enable you to run fast queries on database tables, save them, and visualize them on a dashboard using different charts or tables. Arctype also supports collaboration with other users through sharing saved queries and managing user permissions for workspaces.

Install Arctype on your computer from the link here, then sign up. You can then follow this tutorial.

Creating a workspace

To create a workspace, enter a name for your workspace, as seen in the image below.

Using Arctype to create a workspace
Create a workspace in Arctype

If you already have a database, click on "Add Connection" and pick your database type. Arctype supports MySQL and Postgres.

Add database credentials.
Add your database credentials

Provide your database details and click save to connect it to Arctype, as seen in the image below.

Complete the database details to connect via Arctype.
Complete your details to form the connection

**Note: Your database has to be running for the connection to Arctype to be successful.

Now that you have successfully connected your database to Arctype, you should see a workspace dashboard like the one in the image below:

The Arctype workspace dashboard view
The Arctype workspace dashboard

Click on the settings icon at the top of your workspace dashboard to open the workspace setting page, as shown below:

Opening the workspace settings page.
Opening the workspace setting page

In the “General” tab above, you can update your workspace name and delete your workspace along with all the data in it. You will learn about the editor and members tab when you get to the permissions section of this tutorial.

Manage databases in a workspace

You can add multiple databases all managed in one Arctype workspace. To add another database, click on the database dropdown selector in the workspace dashboard, then create a new database connection as seen in the image below:

The dropdown selector lets you choose data sources.
Using the database dropdown selector to add another database

Follow the steps you learned earlier to create a database connection. You can also delete a database connection on your workspace by clicking on the “Add connection” button anywhere on the workspace dashboard, then clicking on the “x” icon next to the database name in the “Manage connections” navigation as seen in the image below:

Adding and removing connections in Arctype using the connection manager.
Adding or removing connections in Arctype is straightforward

**Note: You need to have at least one database connected to a workspace.

Share your workspace

Arctype supports collaboration with other developers by allowing you to share your workspace with other users. Click on the “Share Workspace” button in the left navigation on your workspace dashboard, then enter the other users’ emails you want to enable access to your workspace. Don’t forget to click on the “Send Invites” button.

Example of the "share workspace" menu in Arctype.
Invite a teammate to share an Arctype workspace with you using the "Share Workspace" menu

The user will get an invite, as seen in the image below:

An example of a workspace invite.
Users will receive an invite just like this one to join your workspace.

When the users accept the invitation from their email, they will automatically get access to the workspace added and listed as one of theirs.

Control permissions of your Workspace

Controlling permissions on your workspace enforces security by ensuring only authorized team members have access and can make changes that will significantly impact the team. By default, any shared workspace will have the user’s permission level set to an editor.

If you wish to leave a workspace, go to the workspace settings on the account from which you accepted your invite. You will find the delete button earlier has been replaced with a “Leave” button.

Using the general settings to leave a workspace.
Leaving a workspace in Arctype

You can also check all the members on the workspace and edit their permission levels by navigating to the “Members” tab. On the workspace owner account, navigate to the “Members” tab in the workspace settings. Here, you can manage the permission level of members on your workspace.

Using the "Members" tab to manage permission levels.
Manage the permission level of members in the "Members" tab

There are two permission levels a workspace member can possess aside from being the owner of the workspace, either becoming an editor or an admin. The editor has access to edit data on the workspace. However, the editor can not change the permission level of another member or delete the workspace but can only leave it. This restriction also means that if an editor invites another member to the workspace, they can only have an editor’s permission.

Editor is the default permission level
The default permission level in Arctype is "editor"

The admin has access to every level of data on the workspace, including inviting new members to give all permission levels. However, the admin can’t edit the permission level of the other members that he/she didn’t invite.

Modifying permissions in Arctype
Modifying user permissions

Switch between workspaces

Suppose you have multiple client projects you are managing from different clients. You will need to work on these projects in separate workspaces. Creating individual workspaces allows you to isolate and protect all resources private to that client(tables, queries, dashboards, etc.), keeping everyone happy. Arctype enables you to manage these workspaces separately and switch between them easily.

Click on your workspace name in the menu, then click on  `Create new workspace` to add another workspace.  Follow the steps we stated earlier to create a new workspace.

Adding a workspace in Arctype
Adding a workspace in Arctype

For example, suppose you have three active client projects for an e-commerce store, a Saas business, and a manufacturing company. To isolate their project resources and keep them private, you created a workspace for each client following the steps above.

An example of multiple workspaces in Arctype
An example of multiple workspaces - in this case, one for each client


After creating a workspace for each client on Arctype, you can switch between them from any workspace. Click on the workspace’s name you are currently using to get a dropdown of other workspaces you have, then select the one you would like to use.

Conclusion

This article introduced you to Arctype, listed some of its features, and then showed you how to manage your Arctype workspace and its resources for better collaboration and security. Ready to try it out for yourself? Download Arctype and get started!

Spread the word

Keep reading